The goal of The Weekday School at Myers Park Presbyterian Church is to foster the mental, physical, spiritual, and experiential growth of each child through our half- and full-day programs. We offer holistic learning activities in a nurturing environment where children find joy in exploring the world in which they live. We provide activities children can carry out at their own pace, to the best of their ability, as well as a community of support to our Weekday School families. As part of the Christian education ministry of Myers Park Presbyterian Church, the Weekday School is committed to offering the highest quality preschool education available in a unique environment — an environment where children grow into their identity as a child of God, have a sense of belonging, and are nurtured in discipleship as they grow in faith. The Weekday School at Myers Park Presbyterian Church is under the authority of the Session and responsible to it. Matters of general policy and direction are carried out by the Weekday School Board, which is a standing committee of the Session.

Our Vision

and

Philosophy

The Weekday School at Myers Park Presbyterian Church envisions a ministry where: Children THRIVE … spiritually, socially, and emotionally. Children DEVELOP … physically and intellectually. Children GROW … in faith and discipleship. Children BEGIN … a lifelong love of learning. Our philosophy is based on how children learn rather than what they should know. We believe that children learn most effectively through a play-oriented approach, with curriculum specifically suited to each developmental level, as well as to the needs of the individual child.

Our Programs

Half-Day Ministry

For Ages:
12 months – 60 months

Hours of Operation:
9 a.m. – 12:30 p.m.

Classroom Ratios:      Toddlers: 2:10                     Twos: 2:12                         Threes: 2:14 to 2:16          Fours: 2:18                               TK: 2:20

Full-Day  Ministry

For Ages:
6 weeks – 60 months

Hours of Operation:
7:30 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Classroom Ratios:         Infants: 2:8                    Toddlers: 2:10                     Twos: 2:14                         Threes: 2:14                        Fours: 2:15

EVENTS CALENDAR

Link Your Harris Teeter VIC Card Today

Did you link your Harris Teeter VIC card to support the Weekday School this year? You must relink your card each school year. Tell the cashier at check out our number, 4351.

Mabel’s Labels Fundraiser

Limit our Lost & Found by labeling all of your belongings.  Click HERE to order waterproof and dishwasher safe labels.  The Weekday School will receive a portion of proceeds. 

Curriculum Overview

The Creative Curriculum System for Preschool is an award-winning curriculum system for preschool success. Using exploration and discovery as a way of learning, The Creative Curriculum for Preschool enables children to develop confidence, creativity, and lifelong critical thinking skills.

The Creative Curriculum for Preschool:

  • Based on 38 objectives for development and learning.
  • Presents knowledge-building volumes and daily practice resources in tandem, giving every educator the “what,” “why,” and “how” of early childhood education.
  • Offers daily opportunities to individualize instruction, helping teachers meet the needs of every type of learner.
  • Addresses all the important areas of learning from social-emotional and math to technology and the arts and incorporates them throughout every part of every day.
  • Offers daily built-in opportunities for observation, helping teachers and administrators clearly see the strong relationship between curriculum and assessment.

Development assessments are conducted twice a year. This helps teachers focus on what matters most to children’s success by:

  • Developing a profile of each child to answer the questions, “What does this child know? What is he or she able to do?”
  • Understanding how their observations relate to important objectives for development and learning and use that understanding to scaffold each child’s learning.
  • Assisting to determine if a child is making progress and compare the child’s knowledge, skills, and behaviors to those of their peers.
  • Recognizing children who might benefit from special help, screening, or further early intervention evaluation.

Christian education and faith formation are incorporated into the curriculum in both intentional and integrated ways that reflect the pervasiveness of God in all of life. As we expand the Weekday School ministry, we are making plans for including faith moments in the curriculum that reflect the goals and priorities of our covenant. Whether in weekly Chapel or prayers in the classroom, your child is learning the language of faith and growing in their love of God and neighbor.

Half-Day Enrollment

Registration for the 2019-20 school year is closed.  CLICK HERE if you would like to be added to the waitlist.

January 7-11: Registration for currently enrolled families. 

January 14-18: Registration for new families

If you are registering more than one child, the total amount paid will reflect the number of registrations received (1=$105, 2=$210, 3=$315).

Please have your MPPC Member Portal login information ready or register for an account prior to your registration period. Walk-in or mail-in registrations will not be accepted.

A non-refundable registration fee of $105 is required. Payment options include Visa and Mastercard. Because many employers have firewalls that prevent online payments, please use a personal computer, tablet, or smartphone to register.

Priority For Enrollment:

  1. Currently enrolled Weekday School students – currently enrolled students are guaranteed a spot in the upcoming school year but not necessarily their first choice of days
  2. Siblings of currently enrolled Weekday School students
  3. Myers Park Presbyterian Church members not currently enrolled
  4. Non-Myers Park Presbyterian Church members

Waitlisted Families:

Families for whom there is no immediate space available will be placed on the appropriate waiting list in order of registration date and time. Should space become available, you will be contacted regarding the opening and asked to complete a letter of intent to attend and submit the first month’s tuition to accept the space.

What Happens Next:

Letters of intent will be emailed on February 1 to all successfully registered and waitlisted families. If accepted, signed letters of intent along with the first month’s tuition will be due within one week of acceptance date.

2019-20 Enrollment Choices:

Toddlers: MWF ($356/month) or T/TH ($296/month)

  • Must be 12 months by August 31, 2019

Twos: MWF ($356/month), T/TH ($296/month), or M-F ($453/month)

  • Must be 24 months by August 31, 2019

Threes: M-TH ($394/month) or M-F ($453/month)

  • Must be 36 months by August 31, 2019

Fours: M-F ($453/month)

  • Must be 48 months by August 31, 2019

Transitional Kindergarten: M-F ($482/month)

  • Eligibility Requirements: Successful completion of a 4-year-old class

When determining classroom placement, consideration is given to age range and boy-to-girl ratio. We will do our best to accommodate first enrollment choices whenever possible. The final placement of children is carefully determined by the Weekday School administration.

Full-Day Enrollment

Registration: Ongoing

How It Works:

  • All families interested in attending the Myers Park Presbyterian Church Weekday School are encouraged to attend a scheduled tour (please refer to TOUR link for dates and tour registration.)

Full-Day Program registration is open only to families with two full-time employed parents (or full-time employed single parent).

Tuition: 

Infants/Toddlers: $1184.00 monthly
Early Preschool/Preschool/PreK: $1068.00

Priority For Student Enrollment:

  1. Students currently enrolled in the WDS for a minimum of 1 year & their siblings.
  2. Myers Park Presbyterian Church members, not currently enrolled.
  3. Non–Myers Park Presbyterian Church members.

Priority for Waitlisted Students:

Once you are notified of an opening by the Weekday School administration, you will have seven days to accept, complete, and return your letter of intent. Once the Weekday School receives your letter of intent, you will receive an enrollment packet and registration confirmation

To complete a full-day enrollment application, a $105.00 registration is required.

CLICK HERE TO APPLY.

Tours

Tour the classrooms of our award-winning programs.

Tours are the 2nd Thursday of each month from 10:30 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. in B105.

Please complete the following registration form to sign up for one of the tour dates below. We look forward to your visit!

Tour Dates:

October 11      November 8       December 13      January 10      February 14      March 14      April 11      

May 9      June 13      July 11

Employment

We are currently accepting applications for both full time and half day positions.

Submit an Employment Application

Discover all the fun your child can have this summer at Weekday Wonders summer camp weeks. Our themed weeks are designed to be educational as well as tons of fun for the children!

Camp hours are between 7:30 and 6:00 for rising Kindergartners through rising 5th graders. We will have one or two field trips per week that go along with our theme. Camp is $250.00 per week per camper with a $50.00 non-refundable registration fee paid up front and the remaining paid the week your child attends camp. To register or for more information, email Shannon Leary at Sleary@myersparkpres.org

Summer Camps 2019 Dates

Week 1 June 10 thru June 14 Geology Week

Week 2 June 17 thru June 21 Vacation Bible School

Week 3 June 24 thru june 28 Adventureland

Week 4 July 1 thru July 5 America the Beautiful! Let’s Explore NC

Week 5 July 8 thru July 12 Tinkerlab

Week 6 July 15 thru July 19 Super Science!

Week 7 July 22 thru July 22 Water Works!

Week 8 July 29 thru August 2 PeeWee Picassos

Week 9 August 5 thru August 9 Music and Movement

Week 10 August 12 thru Aug 16 The Queen City/ Our Hometown

GEOLOGY ROCKS!

This week we will explore what amazing treasures come from the Earth and a little bit about how by learning about fossils, gems, and minerals. Our study includes a trip to Emerald Hollow Mine in Hiddenite, NC for an earth science program culminating with a creek dig and sifting through dirt in a sluiceway to find some of Earth’s treasures.

VACATION BIBLE SCHOOL~ THEME TBD

ADVENTURELAND

Join us for a week filled with fun and adventure! We will work in teams to achieve problem solving goals, embark on a scavenger hunt and go on a fun field trip!

AMERICA THE BEAUTIFUL!

This week we will Celebrate America’s birthday by learning about some nifty American inventions, participating in some very American traditions and honoring America’s favorite pastime by touring BB&T stadium where the Charlotte Knights play. NO CAMP ON WEDNESDAY, JULY 4TH

TINKERLAB

What will YOU make in our maker space? Bring your imagination and creativity to camp this week as we see what we can cobble together in our tinker lab. We will take a fun and interesting field trip this week as well.

SUPER SCIENCE

This week be prepared to ask WHY as we explore everything from polymers to gravity. We will take a trip to Atomz Labs to perform some super cool science experiments and learn about the scientific method.

WATER WORKS

This week we will get wet! We will learn about the water cycle, visit a splash park and learn about the ocean and why it is important to protect it. We will take a special field trip and have some water balloon wars! You will need a change of dry clothes, a towel and water shoes for this week.

PEE WEE PICASSOS

Spend this week learning about all things art. If you like to paint, draw, sculpt or just use your creative brain, this week is for you! We will experiment and play with different mediums from paint to clay and take an art inspired field trip. You will create a masterpiece to take home on Friday!

MUSIC AND MOVEMENT

Our own Ms. Lana, MPPC Weekday School Music and Movement Teacher will be on hand this week for all things music! From classical to classic rock, experience music like you haven’t before. We will also take a special field trip this week.

CELEBRATE CHARLOTTE!

This week we will celebrate our hometown. We will learn about what makes Charlotte a cool, world class city. We will explore it’s history and quirks and take some fun and informative field trips.

Inclement Weather Policy

  1. If the Myers Park Presbyterian Church Administrative offices are closed, the Weekday School will be closed.
  2. The Weekday School (full & half-day) will follow the Charlotte–Mecklenburg School’s (CMS) closing policy for the first inclement weather day.
  3. If CMS is scheduled to be closed for additional days due to the inclement weather, the decision on whether or not to close will be determined by Weekday School Administration on a day-to-day basis.
  4. In the event of a Charlotte – Mecklenburg Schools (CMS) delayed opening, the half-day program will remain closed, and the full–day program will operate either on the one or two-hour delay.
  5. To ensure proper and prompt notification of parents and staff as to the closing or delayed opening for The Weekday School, the administration will send the information out using Remind 101.

Remind 101 offers a service that will send you a push or text message if the Weekday School posts any closings or delays. We recommend that you take the following steps:

If you have a smartphone, get push notifications. Open your web browser and go to the following link.

For Text messages:

  • Half-Day – text @halfdaypa to 81010
  • Full-Day – text @fulldaywds to 81010

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Kim Vanover

Kim Vanover

Weekday School Director

kvanover@myersparkpres.org 704.927.1277
Shannon Leary

Shannon Leary

Director, Weekday Wonders School Age Program

sleary@myersparkpres.org
Caroline Broadfoot

Caroline Broadfoot

Weekday School Half-Day Director

cbroadfoot@myersparkpres.org 704.927.1278
Lora Connor

Lora Connor

Weekday School Half-Day Administrator

lconnor@myersparkpres.org 704.816.7300
Kate Taylor

Kate Taylor

Program Coordinator, Weekday School

ktaylor@myersparkpres.org 704.927.1276

TEACHING STAFF

Ginger Bamberg

Ginger Bamberg

Full-Day Preschool Teacher gbamberg@myersparkpres.org
Lorraine Byrd

Lorraine Byrd

Weekday School Nurse lbyrd@myersparkpres.org
Pam Beers

Pam Beers

Half-Day Twos Teacher pbeers@myersparkpres.org
Linda Carattini

Linda Carattini

Half-Day Float Team lcarattini@myersparkpres.org
Morgan Boger

Morgan Boger

Half-Day Fours Teacher mboger@myersparkpres.org
Stephanie Carter

Stephanie Carter

Half-Day Transitional Kindergarten Teacher scarter@myersparkpres.org
Cheryl Breed

Cheryl Breed

Full-Day Pre-K Teacher cbreed@myersparkpres.org
Shalawn Covert

Shalawn Covert

Full-Day Float Team scovert@myersparkpres.org
Wynn Dagerhart

Wynn Dagerhart

Half-Day Twos Teacher wschenck@myersparkpres.org
Becky Dailey

Becky Dailey

Half-Day Fours Teacher bdailey@myersparkpres.org
Delcina Dass

Delcina Dass

Full-Day Infant Teacher ddass@myersparkpres.org
Anne DeShields

Anne DeShields

Half-Day Toddler Teacher adeshields@myersparkpres.org
Crystal Eichelberger

Crystal Eichelberger

Full-Day Float Team ceichelberger@myersparkpres.org
Victoria Ellis

Victoria Ellis

Full-Day Infant Teacher vellis@myersparkpres.org
Jeanna Embree

Jeanna Embree

Half-Day Fours Teacher jembree@myersparkpres.org
Jan Scott Farmer

Jan Scott Farmer

Godly Play Teacher jsfarmer@myersparkpres.org
Sydney Farrell

Sydney Farrell

Half-Day Twos Teacher sfarrell@myersparkpres.org
Harriet Fay

Harriet Fay

Half-Day Float Team hfay@myersparkpres.org
Lakshmi Ganesh

Lakshmi Ganesh

Half-Day Threes Teacher lganesh@myersparkpres.org
Julie Garner

Julie Garner

Half-Day Fours Teacher jgarner@myersparkpres.org
Vita Gibbs

Vita Gibbs

Half-Day Twos Teacher vgibbs@myersparkpres.org
Catherine Gore

Catherine Gore

Half-Day Fours Teacher cgore@myersparkpres.org
Kat Gore

Kat Gore

Full-Day Early Preschool Teacher kgore@myersparkpres.org
Tameka Gray

Tameka Gray

Half-Day Threes Teacher tgray@myersparkpres.org
Julia Griffith

Julia Griffith

Half-Day Threes Teacher jgriffith@myersparkpres.org
Donna Heiser

Donna Heiser

Half-Day Threes Teacher dheiser@myersparkpres.org

Carol Anne Henry

Half-Day Toddler Teacher

Emily Hunsinger

Emily Hunsinger

Half-Day Fours Teacher ehunsinger@myersparkpres.org
Jennifer Krueger

Jennifer Krueger

Half-Day Transitional Kindergarten Teacher jkrueger@myersparkpres.org
Cindy Mills

Cindy Mills

Full-Day Preschool Teacher cmills@myersparkpres.org
Raven Mills

Raven Mills

Half-Day Toddler Teacher rmills@myersparkpres.org
Lana Moeller

Lana Moeller

Music/Movement Teacher lmoeller@myersparkpres.org
Cathy Neill

Cathy Neill

Half-Day Twos Teacher cneill@myersparkpres.org
Courtney O'Neil

Courtney O'Neil

Half-Day Toddler Teacher coneil@myersparkpres.org
Caroline Pearce

Caroline Pearce

Full-Day Toddler Teacher cpearce@myersparkpres.org
Katie Pirie

Katie Pirie

Full-Day Early Preschool Teacher kpirie@myersparkpres.org
Amy Potts

Amy Potts

Half-Day Twos Teacher & Full Day Float Team apotts@myersparkpres.org
Mary Kate Potts

Mary Kate Potts

Half-Day Toddler Teacher mkpotts@myersparkpres.org
Kaylee Pratt

Kaylee Pratt

Half-Day Fours Teacher kpratt@myersparkpres.org
Kelly Ridinger

Kelly Ridinger

Half-Day Toddler Teacher kridinger@myersparkpres.org
Cindy Roberts

Cindy Roberts

Half-Day Threes Teacher croberts@myersparkpres.org
Jennifer Scull

Jennifer Scull

Half-Day Float Team jscull@myersparkpres.org
Joanne Stephens

Joanne Stephens

Half-Day Threes Teacher jstephens@myersparkpres.org
Mimi Tate

Mimi Tate

Half-Day Threes Teacher mtate@myersparkpres.org
Angel Tyler

Angel Tyler

Full-Day Float Team atyler@myersparkpres.org
Cathi Venable

Cathi Venable

Half-Day Toddler Teacher cvenable@myersparkpres.org
Terry Wallace

Terry Wallace

Librarian twallace@myersparkpres.org
Ashley Whitley

Ashley Whitley

Full-Day Float Team awhitley@myersparkpres.org
CaryAnn Wonderly

CaryAnn Wonderly

Half-Day Fours Teacher cwonderly@myersparkpres.org